Back to top

Matt Zorn Named Young Lawyer of the Year Finalist in The American Lawyer 2022 Industry Awards

Matt Zorn has been named as a Young Lawyer of the Year (Litigation) finalist in The American Lawyer 2022 Industry Awards. He is one of seven finalists in the category which recognizes lawyers under 40 who have shown exceptional work in any litigation practice in the last two years.

In recent years, Matt has developed a national policy-shifting practice in cannabis research and controlled substances. On behalf of Scottsdale Research Institute, he filed suit to successfully compel the U.S. government to promulgate new rules to approve private cannabis suppliers, ending a 50-year system that stifled vital medical research. In 2021, he represented a supplier in securing a landmark decision overturning a ban on smokable hemp products in Texas, which was affirmed in the appellate court, and will defend the rulings next year in the Texas Supreme Court.

Outside the courtroom, Matt is recognized as a thought leader in the emerging cannabis and psychedelics industry.  He regularly shares his insights at events like the South by Southwest Conference and as a member of Law360 Cannabis Editorial Advisory Board.

He represents clients in IP, contract, and regulatory litigation, and is active in both federal and state trial and appellate courts. He is recognized as “One to Watch” in IP Litigation by Best Lawyers in America and as a “Texas Rising Star” by Thomson Reuters’ Super LawyersHe was honored as a 2020 Pegasus Scholar by American Inns of Court. He strives to improve fairness in law and policy, and his leadership and advocacy skill earned him a promotion to the Yetter Coleman partnership in January of 2022.

The American Lawyer selected the finalists from over 700 submissions to find the “lawyers, business professionals, law firms, and organizations that are elevating the profession to new heights.” Individuals and firms recognized will be honored at an awards gala on November 10, 2022, in New York City.

All 2022 finalists listed here: History Makers and Innovators: The American Lawyer Industry Awards Finalists Announced